the brand that Boca has / Argentina News

Miguel Russo’s team ended up becoming champion of the Diego Armando Maradona Cup in the final played in San Juan. His record in local tournaments

After a week complicated by the tough defeat against Santos, 3-0 in Brazil, which meant the elimination of the Copa Libertadores in the semifinals, Boca Juniors ended up becoming the champion of the Diego Armando Maradona Cup in an emotional final played in San Juan , in which he ended up suffering more than he imagined.

It is that, although the game was quite flat, the end was for the heart attack since, when the Xeneize was preparing to shout champion thanks to the goal that he scored Edwin cardona At 18 minutes into the second half, Luciano Lollo equalized it in the sixth minute of injury to stretch the definition of the final to shots from the penalty spot.

There, despite the nervousness that was breathed at the possibility of being left empty-handed, Boca did not fail. Carlos Tevez, Sebastián Villa, Eduardo Salvio, Carlos Izquierdoz and Julio Buffarini scored the five shots from Xeneize, who took advantage of Jorge Rodríguez’s mistake to end up winning 5 to 3 and keep the first edition of the Professional League Cup, which is also the first official tournament organized by the entity that came to replace the Super League.

Thus, Xeneize reissued a curious achievement that it has been repeating for 90 years in several of the local tournaments: being the first champion in history.

First champion of professionalism

Boca Juniors has to its credit the pride, among many others, of being the first champion of professionalism. The 1931 First Division Championship left amateurism behind and ushered in a new era for Argentine soccer. Xeneize won the title of a tournament that was played by 18 teams and played on two wheels, all against all. There, after 34 games played, he scored 50 points from 22 wins, 6 draws and 6 losses.

After tying the game, Boca ended up beating Banfield 5 to 3 on penalties and won the Professional League Cup

First champion of the Argentine Cup

In 1969 Boca Juniors became the first champion in the history of the Argentina Cup. This tournament was played by 32 teams under a direct elimination modality in round-trip matches, and Xeneize raised the trophy after defeating Atlanta by a 3-2 aggregate in the grand final. In the Gasometer, the La Ribera club won 3 to 1 in the first leg and fell by the minimum in the second leg. On the way he had eliminated Atlético Tucumán, Sarmiento de Santiago del Estero, Chacarita and Colón.

First champion of the reissue of the Argentine Cup

In 1970 the Argentine Cup was left unfinished and it was never played again, until in 2011, 41 years later, the AFA gave life to the new format of the tournament that is still being played to this day. It began to be played in August of that year and had the participation of 183 teams from First Division, First National B, First B, C and D, Argentine A and Argentine B plus two teams from the provinces that were not in these competitions. The tournament ended in 2012 and had Boca as the first champion of the new era, after beating Racing 2 to 1 in the final. Along the way he had eliminated Santamarina de Tandil, Central Córdoba de Rosario, Olimpo, Rosario Central and Deportivo Merlo.

First champion of the 30-team tournament

After leaving behind the short tournaments, the old Apertura and Clausura replaced by the Initial and Final, and with a Transition Tournament through, the 2015 First Division Championship resumed the “annual” tournaments in Argentine soccer with the dispute of a curious competition in which 30 teams participated. After facing everyone against everyone on a wheel, plus a date of classics, Boca Juniors became the first champion of this format by reaping 64 points, the product of 20 wins, 4 draws and 6 losses. As in the first professional tournament, his runner-up was San Lorenzo.


Julio Buffarini converted the last penalty and caused the celebration of his teammates and fans at the Ribera club

First champion of the Argentine Football Super League

The 30-team tournament had two more editions and was extinguished in 2017, giving rise to a new (yet another) format: the Argentine Football Super League. The AFA decided to create an autonomous entity with its own statute to take over the organization of the First Division tournament, trying to imitate what happens with the Premier League or La Liga in Spain, for example, but in an Argentine version. Once again, the Xeneize was the first champion in history. The 2017-18 Super League had 28 teams and one wheel was played, all against all, crowning Guillermo Barros Schelotto’s team with 58 points collected in 18 victories, 4 draws and 5 defeats.

First champion of the Professional League Cup

The SAF experiment lasted just three years and in mid-2020, in full stop due to the coronavirus pandemic, the First Division clubs decided to put an end to it so that the organization of the tournaments returned to Viamonte Street. The Super League was renamed the Professional Football League and became an internal organ of the AFA. Once the return to competition was authorized, to adjust to the limited calendar, the Professional League Cup was created, renamed the Diego Armando Maradona Cup after the death of 10 on November 25, and the Xeneize went down in history as its first champion by beating the Drill last night.